Lay Day for Quiksilver Pro New York, Possible Start Tomorrow

Lay Day for Quiksilver Pro New York, Possible Start Tomorrow

Pictured: The City of Long Beach plays host to the world’s best surfers for the Quiksilver Pro New York.
Credit: © ASP / SCHOLTZ

LONG BEACH, Long Island/New York (Monday, September 5, 2011) – Event organizers at the Quiksilver Pro New York, Event No. 6 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season, called competition off for the day after assessing the choppy one-to-two foot (0.5 metre) conditions on offer at Long Beach this morning.

“We’re beginning to see the first signs of energy from Katia this morning but it hasn’t fully filled in yet so we’ve called competition off for the day,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We’re tracking improved conditions projected over the next four days and it’s possible that we’ll see a start as early as tomorrow.”

When competition commences, up first will be Joel Parkinson (AUS), 30, Brett Simpson (USA), 26, and Travis Logie (ZAF), 32, in the opening heat of the Quiksilver Pro New York.

Even organizers will convene tomorrow morning at 6am to assess conditions for a possible 7am start.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Quiksilver Pro New York, are calling for Hurricane Katia to send rising surf to the region today and tomorrow. Katia sets up solid surf during the middle and second half of the upcoming week.

The Quiksilver Pro New York will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 2: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Dane Reynolds (USA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Asher Nolan (USA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Daniel Ross (AUS), Balaram Stack (USA)
Heat 7: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 8: Bede Durbidge (AUS, Chris Davidson (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 9: Michel Bourez (PYF), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: Damien Hobgood (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 11: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Josh Kerr (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA)